by Diane Malone
28 April 2009

tom hanks caroline digonis

    The 36th annual Film Society Gala honored Tom Hanks with their Chaplin Award on April 27th, 2009, at the newly renovated Alice Tully Hall’s Starr Theatre. The stars came out to celebrate in tribute to the two-time Oscar-winning Actor, who “looked forward to partying” with his film friends.  

sally field caroline digonis

    Among the star-studded lineup included Sally Field, Julia Roberts, Ron Howard, Steven Spielberg, Charlize Theron, Mike Nichols, Bruce Springsteen, Nora Ephron, John Patrick Shanley, Robert Zemeckis, Glenn Close, Sam Mendes, Adrien Brody, Christopher Walken, Jeremy Irons, Geoffrey Rush, Ed Burns, Christy Turlington and Colin Hanks.  
   The Hollywood atmosphere of the special event had dozens of photographers, fans, and onlookers all waiting to catch a glimpse of their favorite stars. A line of parked limousines waited just up the street after each celebrity made their grand entrance.
    Actor Jeremy Irons gave his fans a treat arriving on his motorcycle and taking a slow spin for photographs before walking the red carpet.


steven spielberg caroline digonis

 julia roberts caroline digonis    
    Julia Roberts arrived just before 7:00 pm flashing her trademark smile to the cheering crowds. Once on the red carpet, Julia Roberts spoke fondly of Tom Hanks and how likeable he is as a person and actor. She added the now famous extra “expletives” to her speech once the evening’s tributes began inside. She wore a white Dolce & Gabbana sheath dress for the Gala evening.
   The Gala evening began with VIP cocktails followed by a seated dinner in the glass atrium located in the Hauser Patron Salon in Alice Tully Hall. The evening began at 9:00 pm and ended around midnight to a dj’ed dance party.
    Currently, Tom Hanks finished filming the Da Vinci prequel, Angels & Demons, directed by Ron Howard, due out this summer.

 caroline digonis film society

    Tom Hanks shares the Chapin Award with past honorees of the Film Society including Meryl Streep, Jane Fonda, Diane Keaton, Michael Caine, Martin Scorsese, Clint Eastwood, Al Pacino, Bette Davis, Audrey Hepburn, Fred Astaire, among many others. The Chaplin Award was named after its first recipient, in 1972, Charles Chaplin. Visit the Film Society of Lincoln Center to support and learn more.

All Photos: © Caroline P. Digonis 2009